Yusuf meherally centre

The Centre was started in 1961 in memory of Yusuf Meherally, and was formally inaugurated in 1966, by Dr. Zakir Husain, the then Vice-President. The initial objectives were promoting national integration and studying the problems of urbanisation. After 1967, the transformation of urban resources through men, money and material, and with the participation of local people got added as an objective. During 1962-67, cultural and intellectual activities dominated its programme. The Centre was the first to organise an exhibition of Laxman’s cartoons. It helped Bangladesh refugees and organised famine relief whenever necessary. Later, rural development became its main activity and a large number of activities were taken up in diverse fields at Tara and around.

On the basis of the experience gained over two decades, a new dimension was added to its activities. Since the early nineties it is actively engaged in presenting to the nation a replicable model of rural development. This model is based on its definition of rural development as micro-watershed development plus organic farming, including vermiculture, and vermi compost plus non-conventional energy plus village industries and marketing their products in urban and semi-urban areas, in addition to the surrounding villages.

Aims and Objectives

  • To do constructive and nation building work among all sections of society.
  • To undertake rural development activities.
  • To promote and undertake khadi and village industries.
  • To create awareness of the importance of maintaining ecological balance.
  • To undertake health and educational activities and
  • To organize women, youth and Self Help Groups.
  • To promote employment in several areas and to provide relief and rehabilitation to victims of natural calamities.

Managing Committe

Dr. G. G. Parikh
A/33, Ganesh Prasad,
Naushir Bharucha Marg,
Mumbai – 400 007.
Mob: 9869009850
Email:- ggparikh91@gmail.com

Shri Mateen Diwan (Vice Chairman)

“ALBADR” Apartments,Flat No.105
Kachchi Mohalla,M.G. Road, PANVEL,Dist. Raigad,Pin 410 206.
Mob. 9423385946
Email : mateendiwan@gmail.com

Shri Haresh Shah (Vice Chairman)

Shri Haresh Shah
Motilal Mansion, 17,
L. Jagmohandas Marg, Mumbai – 400 036.
M. 9821014317
Email: hareshshah1509@gmail.com

Smt. Vijaya Chauhan (General Secretary)

Smt. Vijaya Chauhan
M.M.Chotani Road, Mahim,
Mumbai: 400016.
Mob : 9820236267
Email :vijaya.chauhan@gmail.com

Shri Narendra Patwardhan (Treasurer)

Shri Narendra Patwardhan
39/41, Sitaram,
4th Lane, Pin Code: 411004
Mob : 09823969212
Email : narendrapat@hotmail.com

Smt. Usha P. Shah ( Joint Secretary )

Smt. Usha P. Shah
702, Divyalok,L.D. Ruparel Marg,
Mumbai – 400 006.
Mob: 09819782197

Shri Madhu Mohite ( Joint Secretary )

Shri Madhu Mohite
25/602, Kalpavrikhsh Garden Co-op Housing Society,Dhokali,
Balkum RoadYashasvi Nagar,
Thane 400608
Email : mmrmohite@yahoo.com

Shri Gaurang Puthli ( Member)

 Shri Gaurang Puthli
402, Belvedere, 16th Road,
TPS III, Bandra West
Mumbai 400050
Mob. 9821434492
Email :- puthligaurang@yahoo.co.in

Shri. Ashok Mehta ( Member)

Shri. Ashok Mehta
Flat No.5, Krishna Kunj,
552, Adenwala Road,
Matunga, Mumbai – 400 019.
M. 9821651732
Email : ashokmehtajpn@yahoo.com

Smt. Rita Sridhar ( Member)

Smt. Rita Sridhar
D-905, Ashok Tower,
Dr.S.S.Rao Road, Parel,
Mumbai: 400012
Mob : 09833411275
Email : rita.sridhar@gmail.com

Shri Pravin K. Shah ( Member)

702, Divyalok,L.D. Ruparel Marg,
Mumbai – 400 006.
Email : peekay_ent123@yahoo.com

Shri. Sudhir Gandbhir ( Member)

Shri. Sudhir Gandbhir
13/14, Gulistan,Sasmira Marg,
Worli, Mumbai : 400030
Mob : 8779845383
Email : sudhir.gandbhir@gmail.com

Dr. Sunilam ( Member)

Dr. Sunilam
Saheed Kisan Smiriti Kutir,
Station Road Multai, Multai,
Dist. Betul, Madhay Pradesh
Mobile : 09425109770
Email : sunilam_swp@yahoo.com

Smt. Manju Mohan ( Member)

Smt. Manju Mohan
XBI, Sahvikas,68, Patparganj,
New Delhi : 110092
Mob : 09971526169
Email : manjoomohan@gmail.com

Shri. Suresh S. Rasam ( Member)

Shri. Suresh S. Rasam
,B/5, Stadium View CHS Ltd,
Mahagir, Wholesale Market Mob : 09920320508
Email: sureshsrasam@gmail.com

Shri. Jaysinh Babla (Member)

Shri. Jaysinh Babla
51, Brindaban, Santacruz (W),
Mumbai: 400054
Mob : 09820000137
Email : jayu@miku.com

Shri.Neeraj Jain (Member)

Shri.Neeraj Jain
C/2, Mantri Estates, Salisbury Park,
Pune :- 411037.
Mob : 09422220311
Email: neerajj61@gmail.com

Shri Chandramohan Nair (Member)

Shri Chandramohan Nair
H/294,Raghunath Vihar Army CHS,
Sector – 14, Kharghar,
Navi Mumbai : 410 210.
Mob :09323978703
Email : mohan.pariath@gmail.com

Shri Jasukhlalbhai Bhuta (Member)

Shri Jasukhlalbhai Bhuta
Nagardas Mansion,
40, Bhagat Singh Road,
Vile Parle (West),
Mumbai :-400 056.
Email:- jaisukhbhuta@gmail.com

Shri. Nitin Anerao (Member)

Shri. Nitin Anerao
55/401, “B” Wing,Jeevan Prakash
Nehru Nagar, Kurla (East),
Mumbai :- 400 024.
Mob :09969806713
Email : nitinanerao19@gmail.com

Shri. Chandan Shukla (Member)

Shri. Chandan Shukla
At Post : Baijani, Block : Jagdishpur
Distt: Bhagalpur, Bihar : 812 005.
Mob : 09973701974
Email:- bgpchandan19@gmail.com

Ms. Guddi Tiwari (Member)

Ms. Guddi Tiwari
Flat No.502, “A”Wing,
Devashish CHS Ltd, Marbal Bazar,
Kalyan-Mohne Road, Kalyan – 421 301
Mob: 07738082170
Email: kgaswadesi1947@gmail.com

Shri Iqbal Kaware (Member)

Shri Iqbal Kaware
Plot No.185, Kaware Villa,p
Sector 19 / C,
Kopar Khairane,
Navi Mumbai : 400709
Email :iqbalkaware@gmail.com

Shri.Hussain Dalwai (Member)

Shri.Hussain Dalwai
2/50, Gulmohar Housing Society,
New MIJ Colony,
Bandra (E),Mumbai : 400053
Mob :
Email: dalwaih@yahoo.co.in

Shri Dhruv Mehta (Member)

Shri Dhruv Mehta
6, Nivant,2nd Floor, Vile Parle (W),
Mumbai: 400056
Mob : 09819234949
Email :dhruvjsm@gmail.com

Shri.Anil Hebbar (Member)

Shri.Anil Hebbar
CLEARMONT, A /303,        
THANE West – 400601
Email :anil.hebbar@emergent.in

Smt. Vandana Dalal (Member)

Smt. Vandana Dalal
11, Ashutosh, 1st Floor,
38/A Nepeansea Road, Mumbai :- 400 006.
Email :vandanacdalal@gmail.com

Shri.P.M.Abraham (Member)

Gurukul Bldg No. 265/21,
Kannawar Nagar No.2, Vikhroli (East)
Mumabai :- 400 083

Close Menu